Eynsford Tree of the Year 2021

7th September 2021

We finally have the news you have all been waiting for... the decision on Eynsford's Tree of the Year!

Thanks to our Tree Wardens, we have two winning trees for the price of one.

The People's Choice winner is: the Silver Birch (Betula Utilis Jacquemontii 'Doorenbos') outside Lullingstone Roman Villa.

silver birch tree at Lullingstone

Photo: Jacky Smith

This large multi-stemmed birch is beautiful at all times of the year and was nominated by a number of residents.

We don't have any information about when and why it was planted, so if anyone can tell us, please get in touch.

The Tree Warden's Choice winner is: the group of mature Willow trees (Salix Babylonica) on Common Meadow.

image of cricket players and willow trees in Eynsford

Photo: Amanda Gilbert

The Tree Wardens chose them for the following reasons:

  • The trees are native to the UK.
  • Eynsford is based around the river, and the willows play an important part in being close to water.
  • The willows are/ were used for cricket bats, therefore appropriate trees for a cricket ground.
  • The cluster of trees can easily be accessed and viewed from the surrounding hillsides.
  • They are great for shade in the public area.

The Parish Council is planning some significant pruning work to these willows to help to keep them healthy for many more years, so they may look a little unsightly for a time. We are also planning to plant some new willows which will eventually replace the older ones.

Thank you to everyone who nominated a tree this year. You will be able to put forward your choices again next year. The Parish Council and the Green Team are always looking for places to plant new trees and to support the preservation of existing trees in our village.

Latest news

More support for The Space
28th March 2024

Community Litter Pick
14th March 2024

How Can we Help You?
27th February 2024

Upcoming dates

Parish Council Meeting
18th April 2024, 19:30

Annual Parish Meeting
26th April 2024, 18:30 - 20:30

Committee Meetings
7th May 2024, 19:30

Powered by Conceptulise CMS